What does Self-Love Truly Mean?

Here’s what no one tells you about loving yourself

Aish Mann
3 min readApr 19, 2020
Photo by Simon Migaj on Unsplash

The notion of ‘Happily Ever After’ is taught to us through fairytales at a very young age. It teaches us to believe in a light at the end of the tunnel, and that everything will work out in our favour at the end.

For the better part of my life, whenever adversity hit, I would dream of riding into the sunset with my Prince Charming who would make all my problems go away. I grew up believing that some knight in shining armour would come rescue me from my problems.

We spend all our lives waiting for someone to come take all our problems away. We start idolising potential partners and put hopes on them that are downright unfair to them. After all, they are humans too with their own issues to deal with.

The idea of romanticism that has been fed to us by the media never shows us what happens the day after ‘Happily Ever After’? What happens when you realise that your partner isn’t perfect and all your notions of the ideal partner fly out the window?

The truth is, the knight in the shining armour that you so long for, can only be you. Nobody can rescue you from yourself.

The person who can truly and wholly understand your thoughts, emotions, wants and needs is you.

--

--

Aish Mann

An economist by training & a writer by soul, I write about topics that I feel add value to the world.